Thursday, April 03, 2014

Sexual Predator Captured Before He Could Strike Again

Fugitive Facing 3 Counts of Aggravated Sexual Assault Charges

Hollywood, FL – Luis Murillo Rapalo, 76, was arrested this morning by members of the United States Marshals Service Florida Regional Fugitive Task Force (FRFTF) in Hollywood, FL. An arrest warrant was issued pursuant to an investigation by the San Antonio Police Department (SAPD), where it is alleged that Rapalo committed 3 counts of aggravated sexual assault of a child.

On March 19, 2014, members of the Lone Star Fugitive Task Force initiated an investigation in the search for Rapalo. Subsequent to the investigation, task force officers along with assistance from the Bexar County Sheriff’s Office discovered that Rapalo had previously fled from San Antonio, TX to Hollywood, FL. Members of the LSFTF then contacted members of the FRFTF in Hollywood, FL for assistance in locating and apprehending Rapalo. Through investigative efforts and extensive surveillance, task force officers determined that Rapalo was residing with his wife at an apartment, located in the 2400 block of Vanburen Street in Hollywood, FL. While conducting surveillance, task force officers positively identified Rapalo as he and his wife exited the residence. Task force officers approached Rapalo, identified themselves, and took him into custody without incident.

On February 19, 2014, Rapalo was formally indicted by a Grand Jury in Bexar County on allegations of sexually assaulting 3 different children under the age of 14. He is currently being held in custody at the Broward County Jail awaiting extradition to Bexar County.

Robert R. Almonte, United States Marshal for the Western District of Texas, stated, “My sincere thanks goes to the officers of the Lone Star Fugitive Task Force and the Florida Regional Task Force for capturing this sexual predator before he could strike again. This is truly a sad case for these innocent children, but with time and healing, my hope is that they will find closure.”

Members of the Lone Star Fugitive Task Force:

    New Braunfels Police Department
    San Antonio Police Department
    San Antonio Independent School District Police Department
    Bexar County Sheriff’s Office
    Comal County Sheriff’s Office
    Bexar County Fire Marshal’s Office
    Bexar County District Attorney’s Office
    Texas Office of The Attorney General
    Texas Department of Public Safety
    Texas Department of Criminal Justice – Office of the Inspector General
    Immigration & Customs Enforcement – Office of Detention & Removal
    U.S. Marshals Service

No comments: