Thursday, February 26, 2015

Westside Shooter Arrested

Fugitive Facing 1st Degree Murder Charge Captured

San Antonio, TX – Edward Arocha, 19, was arrested this afternoon by members of the United States Marshals Service Lone Star Fugitive Task Force (LSFTF) in San Antonio, TX. An arrest warrant was issued pursuant to an investigation by the San Antonio Police Department (SAPD), where it is alleged that Arocha committed 1st degree murder.

This morning, members of the Lone Star Fugitive Task Force (LSFTF) initiated an investigation in locating and apprehending Arocha. Through investigative efforts, task force officers determined that Arocha was hiding out in an apartment located in the 10000 block of South Highway 16, on the south side of San Antonio. While conducting surveillance, task force officers observed Arocha exit an apartment and walk toward the parking lot. Task force officers approached Arocha, identified themselves, and took him into custody without incident.

On February 16, 2015, Arocha was allegedly involved in shooting 2 young men with a handgun in the 1200 block of Longmont Street, on the west side of San Antonio. Reports stated that both victims were found lying on the ground when SAPD officers arrived. One of the victims was pronounced dead at the scene and the other victim was transported to the hospital with non-life threatening injuries. After an extensive investigation by SAPD homicide detectives, an arrest warrant was issued yesterday for Arocha’s involvement in the shooting.

Arocha is currently being held in custody at the Bexar County Sheriff’s Office.

Robert R. Almonte, United States Marshal for the Western District of Texas, states, “Today I share mixed emotions. I am extremely proud of our task force officers for quickly apprehending Arocha, but I am also saddened that another young person has been stripped from this world without having the opportunity to truly live his life.”

Members of the Lone Star Fugitive Task Force:

    New Braunfels Police Department
    San Antonio Police Department
    San Antonio Independent School District Police Department
    Bexar County Sheriff’s Office
    Comal County Sheriff’s Office
    Bexar County Fire Marshal’s Office
    Bexar County District Attorney’s Office
    Texas Office of The Attorney General
    Texas Department of Public Safety
    Texas Department of Criminal Justice – Office of the Inspector General
    Immigration & Customs Enforcement – Office of Detention & Removal
    U.S. Marshals Service

No comments: