Sunday, May 04, 2014

Gunman Attempts Railroad Escape

Fugitive Captured & Facing Aggravated Assault Charges

Ft. Worth, TX – Sidney Reed Denbina, 38, was arrested this afternoon by members of the United States Marshals Service North Texas Fugitive Task Force (NTFTF) in Ft. Worth, TX. An arrest warrant was issued pursuant to an investigation by the Bexar County Sheriff’s Office (BCSO), where it is alleged that Denbina committed aggravated assault with a deadly weapon.

This morning, the Lone Star Fugitive Task Force (LSFTF) was contacted by the BCSO for assistance in searching for Denbina. Subsequent to the investigation, task force officers along with assistance from the BCSO discovered that Denbina had boarded an Amtrak train from San Antonio to Ft. Worth. Members of the LSFTF then contacted members of the NTFTF in Ft. Worth for assistance in locating and apprehending Denbina. This afternoon, task force officers boarded the Amtrak train in Ft. Worth, approached Denbina, identified themselves, and took him into custody without incident.

Paul Berry, Chief Communication Officer for the BCSO issued this press release earlier today: “The Bexar County Sheriff’s Office is asking for assistance in locating Sidney Reed Denbina. Denbina is wanted in connection with a shooting last night in the 10300 block of Shady Meadows on the west side of Bexar County. A warrant has been issued for Denbina’s arrest, with a charge of aggravated assault with a deadly weapon. Denbina is currently employed as a detention officer with the Texas Department of Corrections. He should be considered armed and dangerous.”

Robert R. Almonte, United States Marshal for the Western District of Texas, states, “Once again the collaborative effort of the Lone Star Fugitive Task Force and the Bexar County Sheriff’s Office has resulted in the arrest of a violent and dangerous fugitive. Due to the much appreciated assistance and arrest by the North Texas Fugitive Task Force, Denbina will be held accountable for the vicious crime he committed.”

Members of the Lone Star Fugitive Task Force:

    New Braunfels Police Department
    San Antonio Police Department
    San Antonio Independent School District Police Department
    Bexar County Sheriff’s Office
    Comal County Sheriff’s Office
    Bexar County Fire Marshal’s Office
    Bexar County District Attorney’s Office
    Texas Office of The Attorney General
    Texas Department of Public Safety
    Texas Department of Criminal Justice – Office of the Inspector General
    Immigration & Customs Enforcement – Office of Detention & Removal
    U.S. Marshals Service

No comments: